70th TdR: a royal anniversary

The 70th Tour de Romandie had the royal anniversary it was expecting! Both in terms of the final podium—with Nairo Quintana (Movistar) winning ahead of Thibaut Pinot (Française des Jeux) and Jon Izaguirre (Movistar), who became the second victorious Columbian to make a mark after Santiago Botero in 2005—and of the figures in the peloton who came out on top. The yearly line-up of the stage winners is one of the most prestigious in history: Ion Izaguirre (Prologue), Marcel Kittel (1st stage), Nairo Quintana (Morgins), Thibaut Pinot (Sion), Chris Froome (Villars) and Michael Albasini (Geneva).

“Naironman” seized control in the 2nd stage leading to Morgins and Pinot won the time trial in Sion, confirming he’ll be a major contender for the Tour de France, while Chris Froome put on a show on the wet and cold road to Villars and won the stage! And on Sunday, slipping into a ten-man breakaway that held strong right to the end, Michael Albasini rocked Switzerland again, picking up his 6th stage win in three years!

Visit of the Minister and global impact

This 70th edition, honoured by the presence of the Swiss Minister for Sport Guy Parmelin and one of his predecessors Adolf Ogi, confirmed its status as a key event in the season, providing a wealth of indications for the Tour de France. Thibaut Pinot was thus able to verify the worth of his Valais “lieutenants” Steve Morabito and Sebastien Reichenbach in the mountain stages.

The impact of the Tour de Romandie, broadcast on 170 TV channels, has resounded stronger and further. All the way to South America, reflecting its winner (Quintana has half a million fans on Facebook!). The same goes for social networks, where the Snapchat account, launched as the icing on the cake for this edition, even caught the eye of RTS. And on this subject, we can’t wait to see the viewing figures for the Queen Stage. With Chris Froome’s exploits in Dantean weather conditions, it feels like there’s a record in the air!

So, without hesitation and with great joy, we say roll on 25 April 2017!

Video

Photos

70. Tour de Romandie: Ein königliches Jubiläum

Die 70. Tour de Romandie hat die königliche Geburtstagsfeier bekommen, auf die alle gehofft hatten! Nicht nur das abschliessende Siegerpodest hatte es mit Nairo Quintana (Movistar), der vor Thibaut Pinot (Française des Jeux) und Jon Izaguirre (Movistar) siegte, in sich. Auch die herausragenden Figuren des Pelotons haben beeindruckt. Ion Izaguirre (Prolog), Marcel Kittel (1. Etappe), Nairo Quintana (Morgins), Thibaut Pinot (Sion), Chris Froome (Villars) und Michael Albasini (Genf): Das diesjährige Casting der Etappensieger sucht in der Geschichte des Rennens seinesgleichen.

„Naironman“ übernahm in der 2. Etappe nach Morgins die Führung, Pinot entschied das Zeitfahren in Sitten für sich und tat sich als einer der vielversprechendsten Titelanwärter der Tour de France hervor, während sich Chris Froome auf der ebenso kalten wie nassen Fahrt nach Villars den Sieg holte! Michael Albasini schloss sich am Sonntag dem Ausbruch einer Zehnergruppe an, liess die Schweizer (erneut) für ihn fiebern und holte sich seinen 6. Blumenstrauss in nur drei Jahren!

Besuch des Ministers und weltweite Übertragung

In Beisein von Sportminister Guy Parmelin und Adolf Ogi, einem seiner Vorgänger, wurde mit dem 70. Jubiläum die Schlüsselrolle dieses Wettkampfs für die Saison bestätigt, der eine Vielzahl von Hinweisen auf die Tour de France liefert. Unter anderem konnte sich Thibaut Pinot am Berg von der tatkräftigen Unterstützung durch seine Walliser „Helfer“ Steve Morabito und Sebastien Reichenbach überzeugen.

Die von 170 Sendern übertragene TdR fand diesmal noch stärkeren und weiter entfernten Widerhall. Angesichts des diesjährigen Siegers wurde das Rennen auch in Südamerika aufmerksam verfolgt (Quintana kann auf Facebook eine halbe Million Fans vorweisen!). Gleiches gilt auch für die sozialen Netzwerke, wo der Snapchat-Account als Sahnehäubchen sogar RTS aufgefallen ist! Wir warten bereits ungeduldig auf die offiziellen Zuschauerzahlen der Königsetappe. Mit Chris Froomes Höchstleistung bei widrigen Witterungsbedingungen stehen Rekordzahlen in Aussicht!

Kurz: Wir können den 25. April 2017 kaum erwarten!

Video

Photos